A long-serving champion of public health and the hospice movement has been appointed president of ACCA 

Mark Millar, from Suffolk, England, was named to the global role at ACCA’s Annual General Meeting (AGM), which was held entirely online for the first time ever.

Mr Millar will serve as figurehead and leader for ACCA’s 227,000 members and 544,000 future members in 176 countries.

‘This is a tremendous privilege and I am thrilled to have the honour to serve all my colleagues all around the world,’ said Mr Millar.

‘It is humbling that so many talented and dedicated professionals have placed their trust in me to serve as their president, and I look forward to representing them faithfully and well in the coming year.’

When he was 18 Mr Millar rejected a university place to join the NHS and study for the ACCA Qualification. He qualified in 1980, and went on to hold a variety of finance roles in the NHS. He was non-executive director of Papworth Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, and most recently chief executive of St Elizabeth Hospice in Ipswich.

Mr Millar was elected to ACCA’s Council in 2010 and served as ACCA deputy president last year. He succeeds the outgoing president, Jenny Gu.

Orla Collins, interim managing director of Aberdeen Standard Investments Ireland, from Dublin, was appointed ACCA deputy president.

Joseph Owolabi, CEO of Melbourne-based green finance firm, Rubicola, is ACCA’s new vice president.

The results of elections to ACCA’s global governing Council were announced at the AGM. Sixteen members were newly elected or re-elected. They are:

Paula Kensington, Brendan Sheehan (both Australia), Joyce Evans (Canada), Matthew Wong (China), Melanie Proffitt (England), Alice Yip (Hong Kong SAR), Den Surfraz (Mauritius), Ronnie Patton (Northern Ireland), Maryam Abisola Adefarati, Babajide Ibironke (both Nigeria), Ayla Majid (Pakistan), Oxana Losevkaya (Russia), Liz Blackburn (Scotland), Kevin Fitzgerald (Singapore), Nauman Asif Mian (UAE) and Siobhan Pandya (USA).