KPMG Europe (ELLP) has appointed three independent
non-executives who will together form a new Public Interest

Alfred Tacke, Steve Robson and Tom de Swaan
have been appointed to the committee which will have
responsibilities across the combined ELLP group of firms.

Key roles of the committee will be enhancing
governance and transparency, strengthening confidence in audit
quality and extending communications with a range of

Robson is currently working as director of
Xstrata and the Financial Reporting Council, de Swaan is a board
member at Zurich Financial Services and a non-executive board
member at GlaxoSmithKline and Tacke is a member of the advisory
committee of the Deutschland Fund in the Ministry of Economics in

The Public Interest Committee will work
alongside an existing internal sub-committee of the ELLP board, the
Quality and Risk Committee, which has a similar remit. It will be
responsible for overseeing the public interest aspects of the
decision making of KPMG Europe LLP and its related entities
including the management of reputational risks.